Urban Ag and DC Food Security Bill

Join us in September to push for the passage of this historic piece of legislation

Support the DC Food Security Act of 2014When DC City Council Member David Grosso introduced the DC Food Security Act of 2014, it built upon the legacy of the urban farming act of 1986 and the DC Healthy Schools Act of 2010.This bill takes it a step further by opening up more public and private land to grow healthy food. Its passage is extremely significant to the future success of Three Part Harmony Farm. We’ve been building the soil and productivity on our city plots for the last 3 years but we need these policy changes to take the next step to really grow (in so many different ways!)

Please get involved in this brief grassroots effort to make sure the City Council knows how important this issue is to us.

Contact the Chairman and folks on the Finance and Revenue Committee. They are currently in the mark up phase of the bill.

Please feel free to use these points as a guide:

“Hi, My Name is:
I live in Ward:
I’m calling/ emailing to let you know that the D.C. Urban Agriculture and Food Security Act of 2014 is an important piece of legislation for our city and that I hope it will get passed soon.

• The Act encourages private, District landowners to lease their land for agricultural purposes and encourages urban farming on unused city owned land in response to problems of blighted property.

• The Act responds to the District’s continued struggle to address chronic hunger amongst residents with a local solution: encouraging urban farmers to donate a portion of their produce to District-based food banks and shelters.

• The Act enables urban farmers to sell their produce both on and off the leased land, bringing easy, fresh food access to neighborhoods across the city, including those currently identified as food deserts.

Thank you!”

Chairman Phil Mendelson:
(202) 724-8032, pmendelson@dccouncil.us

Jack Evans:
(202) 724-8058, jackevans@dccouncil.us

Muriel Bowser:
mbowser@dccouncil.us, (202) 724-8052

Marion Barry:
(202) 724-8045, mbarry@dccouncil.us

David Catania
(202) 724-7772, dcatania@dccouncil.us

Thank Grosso and Cheh for their leadership, and the other supporters of the bill as well:

David Grosso:
(202) 724-8105, dgrosso@dccouncil.us

Mary Cheh:
(202) 724-8062, mcheh@dccouncil.us

Jim Graham:
(202) 724-8181, jgraham@dccouncil.us

Kenyan McDuffie:
(202) 724-8028, kmcduffie@dccouncil.us

Tommy Wells:
(202) 724-8072, twells@dccouncil.us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *